Monday, March 14, 2005

make mine marvel

finally watched blade trinity and thank goodness i didnt buy the dvd. after reading heaps of negative reviews, id have to agree with each and every one of them that it is by far the worst of the three blade films (first one being the best of course).

the effects were crap, the soundtrack was awful, hell, the script sucked shoes right from the start. well, wesley snipes was still great, but not as impressive as before. his kick-punch action sequences were tiresome, except for the one where he threw his "glaive" from bottom of the stairway, killing off the vampires in his path, then jumps to the top and catches his weapon back. even the hyped-up jessica biel, trying to be the next ass-kickin hot mama (like jessica alba and jennifer garner) didnt work for me. okay, she is pretty and sexy wielding that cool compound bow of hers, but there's a certain spunk the aforementioned ladies have which she lacks. the film's only saving grace is that mofo ryan reynolds. damn funny, even when he's getting beat up by vampires (go back to wrestling, triple h!). but the worsest worst part of this farce is dracula. they call him drake here (hey! that was my freakin idea!) and he's supposed to be this ancient powerful being whom the vampires awakened to aid their cause. cool idea, except drake here looks like a darn stripclub bouncer who doesnt look cool at all. a total desecration. as hannibal king said, "fuck me sideways."

moving on...

in an attempt to get myself back on track with comic books, ive been reading a few of the recent releases, focusing more on miniseries. ive read dc's identity crisis, and ive just finished marvel's 5-part detective "noir" miniseries madrox, starring the multiple man, with wolfsbane, strong guy, and a cameo by bishop. one of my favorite b-list characters, jamie madrox is a mutant born with the ability to produce clones of himself on impact (i.e. a slap or a punch). last time i heard he was already dead but it was revealed that it was actually a duplicate who died. anyways, in the new madrox miniseries, jamie has put up a detective agency, making full use of his powers. one of his dupes returns with a bloody stab wound and dies just when he was re-absorbed. the real jamie (or is he) sets off to find who killed his dupe.

quite a great read. there's not much action, but it's gripping and funny. plotwise, fine but nothing special. although i didnt guess it (i deliberately did not make any guesses) the ending wasnt much of a surprise. what worked was the character of jamie madrox which was made more human. his feelings, his thoughts, how he interacted with the other characters, very human, showcasing what it could be like if all of this was real. it's a bit sad though that the people behind this miniseries said that this was a one-time deal. i had hoped for more of madrox. but who knows...?

over and out.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home